By Jackson Russell

Tallarook stole the Seymour District Cricket Association minor premiership from under Yea’s nose after a strong win over Seymour while Kilmore surprised the Tigers.

Tallarook recorded a six-wicket win over Seymour at Chittick Park and had some time to play its batsmen into form once the result was decided.

The reigning premiers started well with the ball, dismissing both openers cheaply to have the hosts in trouble at 2/5 with wickets to Will Dundon and Leigh Irving.

Seymour was able to get a few runs behind them before Irving took his second wicket of the day and Jarrod Flint followed up with two more as Seymour fell to 5/54.

Kalon Winnell let Tallarook’s attack during a middle order collapse, taking 3/21 from nine overs as Seymour fell to 9/90.

Seymour was bowled out for 101 from 45 overs after Dundon took the final wicket.
Tallarook was able to get the job done on their run chase without much trouble.

Early wickets had the visitors looking a bit shaky at 2/13, but a brilliant century from captain Lachlan Watts with support from Lachlan Mitchell (11), Leigh Irving (19) and an 89-run partnership with wicketkeeper Cameron Muir (48) guided the visitors to first innings honours.

With time left in the day, Tallarook continued to bat out its innings to give themselves the best shot at the top spot possible, finishing at 8/343 from 75 overs.

Watts was eventually dismissed for 103 while Will Dundon made 80 late in the innings.
Tallarook will now host Kilmore in next week’s semi-final.

Kilmore hits form

Kilmore heads into its semi-final meeting with Tallarook in great form after a 124-run win over Yea at home, handing the Tigers just their second loss of the season.

Kilmore was bowled out for 279 on day one on the back of two big partnerships in the middle and lower order.

The hosts fell to 4/45 before captain Matt Rose stepped up, making 43 as part of a 105-run partnership with Marcus Davern, who top-scored for Kilmore, making 61.

Both fell one after the other with Kilmore 6/151 as the middle order kept the scoreboard ticking over.

With Kilmore 8/189, Ben Dawson and Brett Buttler combined for an 84-run ninth-wicket partnership.

Buttler fell first after making 41 and was followed by Dawson, who was bowled for 58, ending Kilmore’s innings.

Yea looked to be well in control of its innings, starting day two with a 63-run opening partnership before Corey Dennehy took two quick wickets to have the visitors 2/67.

The Tigers were making runs consistently but couldn’t keep partnerships together, falling to 4/103 with wickets to Shane Topham and Pauly McDonald.

Brett Buttler dismissed Darcy Pell leg before wicket for 4, leading to a lower order collapse as Yea fell to 7/131.

A 22-run partnership was ended by Ben Dawson dismissing Andrew Chisholm caught and bowled and it spelt the end for Yea who was bowled out for 155 from 50.5 overs.

Dennehy led Kilmore’s attack, taking 4/12 from 6.5 overs with four maidens.

Kilmore captain Matt Rose said it was the side’s first complete performance.

“We executed our plan of batting 80 overs really well with multiple contributors,” he said.

“Marcus Davern, Ben Dawson and Brett Buttler were standouts, Marcus came in a 4/40 when we were in a bit of trouble and batted really well.

“In terms of bowling, we bowled the way we wanted to and six bowlers took a wicket which was a really pleasing spread and we held nine catches in the field.”

Rose said it doesn’t matter which order they play the other finalists in.

“I’m confident that our cricket stacks up well against Tallarook’s best cricket and if we play the way we did on the weekend, we’re a big shot,” he said.

“I think they probably come into the game under more pressure than us which comes with being the best side in the home and away season and we’re hoping to put them under pressure in the semi-final.”

Broadford shocked

Broadford will be under the pump heading into its semi-final at Yea after suffering a 42-run loss to Eastern Hill at Kings Park.

Broadford looked to be in control after a middle order collapse led to Eastern Hill declaring at 9/135 from 69.2 overs.

An early wicket had the hosts 1/1 before a 42-run partnership consolidated Eastern Hill’s innings.

Jeremy Bradshaw took the breakthrough wicket, bowling Daniel O’Sullivan for 24.
Eastern Hill went on to lose their six wickets for 38 runs before a 54-run ninth-wicket partnership near the end of the innings.

Bradshaw took 4/32 from 20.2 overs with 10 maidens while Shaun O’Neill and Braden Hickey took two wickets each.

Broadford struggled from the get-go, falling to 4/9 right away.

Only two batsmen were able to get out of single-figures, with Blair Hobba (29) and Taylor Shell (26) putting on a 36-run partnership before Broadford was bowled out for 93 from 48.3 overs.

Eastern Hill went back in for seven overs, making 5/34 before the match was ended.