Saturday, July 20, 2024
7.6 C
- Advertisement -

Kilmore Football Netball Club best and fairest: players celebrated

Popular Stories

By Tricia Mifsud

KILMORE Football Netball Club has celebrated the achievements of its players in the 2021 season at its annual presentation day held at Kilmore Trackside on Sunday.

Due to a change in circumstances and COVID-19 restrictions, the club were able to host a family day for the event, inviting players and their families, as well as members to join them.

- Advertisement -

As well as lunch, there was a jumping castle and other entertainment.

Blues president Paul Maher said the club had postponed its awards night in the hope that all players and members could gather to celebrate the 2021 season.

“We were rapt to get together for the annual presentation function at the Kilmore Racecourse on Sunday. We delayed holding the function in the hope we could get together, which came to fruition,” he said.

“It was fantastic to be able to recognise the players and the teams who received awards in what was a reduced season.”

David Saunders, right, was awarded life membership of the Kilmore Football Netball Club and is pictured with fellow life members John Atkinson and Graeme Kurzmann.

Chris Barton, who kicked 19 goals this season, was awarded the seniors Bernie Hede best and fairest award, just ahead of Leigh Irons, the recipient of the award for the past three years. Irons finished second, with Michael McCulloch, Chris Ryall and Caden Fitzpatrick rounding out the top five.

Ryall was also recognised at the awards day for being named the Northern Football Netball League, NFNL, division three best and fairest, and Barton received his trophy for being named the NFNL Coach’s MVP.

Nathan Groves was awarded the reserves’ best and fairest, with Alex Vasilevski and Matthew Lawson finishing second and third respectively, while in the under 19’s, Tom Martin took home top honours with Liam Monaghan and Aaron Kubale finishing second and third respectively.

For netball, Ella Stoward who finished equal third in Kilmore five’s best and fairest count was also recognised for winning the NFNL section 10 best and fairest.

The best and fairest winners for the club’s netball count were Tilly Stewart, Kilmore one; Emily Traynor, Kilmore two; Eloise LeDeux, Kilmore three; Brooke Mann, Kilmore four; Emily Brooking, Kilmore five; Eloise Harrison, Kilmore six; and Phillipa Stewart, Kilmore seven.

“Thank you to Kilmore Trackside and Kilmore Racing for making the day possible and for hosting the event. We’d also like to thank them for continuing to support the Kilmore Football Netball Club,” Maher said.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement Mbl -

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles