Wallan win sixth straight

By Jackson Russell

WALLAN stormed home to an 85-point win over Melton Centrals at home on Saturday.

The win is the Magpies’ sixth in a row and keeps them in the race for the RDFNL minor premiership with Wallan just a game back from ladder leaders Romsey and two percentage points behind Riddell.

Frigid conditions made for a slow start as Wallan was just four points in front at quarter time after kicking 2.2 to 1.4.

The Magpies got in a roll in the second term, blowing the lead out to 28 points at half-time with a four goal to one quarter.

Wallan carried the momentum through the half-time break and piled on another four goals to one to lead by 41 points at three-quarter time but possibly should’ve led by more after kicking six behinds.

The Magpies shut out the Blues in the final term while piling on five more goals to seal the win.

Wallan assistant coach Spencer Mathieson said they didn’t want to let Melton Centrals get off to a quick start like they did in their first meeting.

“When we played them a month ago, Melton Centrals got off to a fast start and led by 17 points at quarter time so we didn’t want that to happen again,” he said.

“They had the breeze in the first term but we ended up winning the quarter. It was a four-goal breeze and from there I thought we were in control of the game.

“Our better players were Jarryd Bonello, Shaun Stewart, Sean Morris, Ricky Schraven, Jake Layley and Cam Nickson but we had plenty of contributors against a very competent side.”

Wallan’s reserves are still on top of the ladder after a 107-point win over Melton Centrals while the under 19s also won their sixth game in a row after a 0-5 start to the season.

Wallan takes on Rupertswood at home next week in another blockbuster.

Wallan 15.19 (109) def Melton Centrals 3.6 (24)

Goals: M. Perri 4, J. Barber 2, M. Mannix 2, S. Morris 2, R. Schraven 2, B. Cox, D. O’Sullivan, J. Layley.
Best: S. Stewart, J. Bonello, B. Cox, R. Schraven, M. Perri, C. Nickson.

Goals: M. Savic 2, D. Weir.
Best: J. Snowdon, L. Phillips, P. Akech, M. Savic, L. Hogan, K. Bulle