Broadford Cricket Club celebrates successful season

Broadford Cricket Club hosted it annual presentation night last month, with former president Lee McKenzie awarded life membership.

McKenzie, who stepped down as president before the 2021-22 season after being at the helm for a decade, remains a committee member.

He has been a long time player for the club, starting in juniors and rising through the ranks to be a senior player.

But its his work off the field that earnt McKenzie the respect of all at the club, and his tireless efforts have contributed to the success of the club over many years.

He became the 15th life member at the club.

Other key awards presented to winners on the night was James Jones receiving Steven O’Connor Memorial Best Clubman, and David Hussey was recognised for his efforts, winning the President’s Award.

Ash Wood won the club champion, after another stellar season in A Grade.

The club’s C Grade premiership side were also heralded for their efforts in the past season.

Individual award winners were:

A Grade: batting: Ash Wood 363 runs, average of 45.38; bowling: Jake Martin 21 wickets, average 6.29; champion: Ash Wood, 408 points; captain’s award: Jack Connell.

B Grade: batting: Michael Mirabella 251 runs, average of 35.86 bowling: Michael Mirabella 21 wickets, average 9.57; all rounder: Michael Mirabella, 531 points; captain’s award: Aaron Gleeson.

C Grade: batting: Sean Baker 279 runs, average 55.80; bowling: Ivan Gardener 25 wickets, average 6.56; all rounder: Ben Holman 460 points, captain’s award: Chris Still.