League awards the best


By Jackson Russell

Broadford defender Rhys Gardner was among the big winners at the Riddell District Football Netball League’s Bowen and Ryan Medal night.

Gardner finished second in the Bowen Medal count behind Romsey midfielder Jaidyn Caruana and was named best defender, as well as earning a place at full back in the Football Team of the Year.

Wallan forward Matt Perri took home the leading goal-kicker award with a count of 92 goals for the home-and-away season.

Wallan forward and RDFNL leading goal-kicker Matt Perri. ​

Perri was also presented with the ball he kicked his 100th goal of the season with in the Magpies shock semi-final win over Romsey.

Perri was named at full forward in the Team of the Year, joining Gardner and Romsey trio Ayden Tessari, Nathan Blair and Jaidyn Caruana.

Broadford’s netballers also had a successful night with Jenny Neilson named B grade best and fairest, ahead of Romsey’s Lauren Anglin, and Jacqueline Warriner named under 17s best and fairest.

RDFNL B grade netball best and fairest winner Broadford’s Jenny Neilson. ​

Along with defender Stefanie Symes taking home the Ryan Medal, Romsey shooter Rebecca Hicks was named best on court in the RDFNL’s interleague meeting with the Southern Football Netball League, coached by Wallan’s Chris Cameron.

Romsey’s Samantha Richardson finished second in the C grade best and fairest, behind Kara Zwarteveen from Melton Centrals.

Symes led the charge for the Netball Team of the Year and was joined by Wallan’s Gemma Grimmond and Chloe Meulenmeesters, who were named as substitutes.

Woodend-Hesket won the RDFNL Club of the Year head of Diggers Rest and Wallan.