MACEDON Ranges Shire Council officially welcomed its councillors last week through a virtual event, which saw nine representatives make their oaths to serve the community.

The process was familiar to three previously serving councillors: Cr Bill West of the east ward, and Cr Janet Pearce and Cr Jennifer Anderson of the west ward.

Cr West was officially sworn in alongside new faces Cr Annette Death and Cr Geoff Neil, who will also represent the east ward.

The south ward now comprises only new faces, including Cr Dominic Bonanno, Cr Rob Guthrie, and Cr Anne Moore.

Crs Anderson and Pearce were joined by Cr Mark Ridgeway.

The ceremony took place at council’s Gisborne chamber, where acting chief executive John Nevins welcomed the councillors into their roles.

The council meeting was livestreamed on council’s website and is available for viewing online at

Councillors gathered again on Monday night to vote for mayor and deputy mayor candidates.

The council’s first ordinary council meeting will go ahead on Wednesday and be available to watch online.

Mr Nevins congratulated all elected councillors and said he looked forward to working with them.

“I’d like to extend a welcome to returning councillors Jennifer Anderson, Janet Pearce and Bill West, former councillors Rob Guthrie and Geoff Neil, and to welcome new councillors Dominic Bonanno, Annette Death, Anne Moore and Mark Ridgeway into their new roles,” he said.

“I’d also like to thank outgoing councillors Henry Bleeck, Natasha Gayfer, Roger Jukes, Mandi Mees, Helen Radnedge and Andrew Twaits for their combined service and contribution to the shire during their terms. I wish them well for the future.”